·      2008, Space Education Pioneer Award (World Space Week Association)

·      2006, World Space Week Leadership Award

·      2006, Space Frontier Foundation “Pioneer of Newspace” (2006)

·      2002, U.S. Space Foundation Certificate of Honor for advancing the "greater cause of the exploration and development of space."

·      2001, NASA Distinguished Service Medal for "his extraordinary vision, leadership, and dedication to … advancing technology into industry.


·      Appointed by Governor Jeb Bush to the Board of Directors, Space Florida (2006-07)

·      Board member (2005-present) and former Chair (2005-2007), World Space Week, a UN sanctioned NGO dedicated to promoting the peaceful uses of space to next generation

·      Nominated and selected as member, Washington-based Cosmos Club (2005-2008)

·      Appointed by U.S. Secretary of Commerce Don Evans to Industry Trade Advisory Committee on Aerospace (March 2004 - 2008)

·      Former Member, Board of Directors, Global Protocol, Inc., Greenbelt-Maryland based company, a protocol engineering firm specializing in the development and integration of bandwidth efficient protocol solutions based on the Space Communications Protocol Standards (SCPS) – a NASA spin-off (2004-2007) 

·      Board of Advisors, Global Science and Technology Corporation, a Maryland-based technology and applied science company and named one of the fastest growing private companies in the U.S. for the second consecutive year by both Deloitte and Inc. Magazine. (October 2003-2008)

·      Advisory Committee, Board of Directors, CapsforKids, a New Orleans-based international non-profit charity. (October 2003-2005)

·      Advisory Board, Hispanic College Fund (2003-2009)

·      Senior Associate, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (1992-present)

·      NASA Alumni League (2003-present)

·      National Space Society

·      The Planetary Society